Have you ever met someone for the first time, and felt completely comfortable with them?  Or received negative “vibes” from another?  This is a reaction to their aura, their essence, which can stretch over a large area.  I have always had a highly developed sensitivity to people’s energy fields, which is probably what led me to Reiki.  A truly spiritual person can bring a sense of calm and peace to hundreds of people at a time, because his/her aura contains the essence of his spirituality and inherent goodness. 

 Our entire physical world is surrounded and permeated by an energy field which is constantly vibrating.  These fields can be measured using a device called the SQUID, and  Kirlian photography  makes it possible to capture the image of the aura.

 Our energy bodies also consist of chakras and energy channels or meridians (also known as “nadis”).  A healthy energy network is essential for optimum health.

 Negative emotions and thought patterns create blocks in the aura.

 The healthy functioning of our body, mind and soul depends directly on our chakras (energy centers of the body).  The chakras open from our physical body into the aura.  Chakras rotate constantly drawing energy from the outside world into our body.   When the aura develops “blocks”, these blocks cause disruption in the related chakra which interferes with the amount of energy being supplied to the body.   Each of the seven main chakras is in charge of supplying energy to a particular endocrine gland (your hormonal system), and the glandular function is adversely affected when chakras are disrupted, which has a negative effect on our mental-emotional health, which in turn creates dis-ease.

 When Reiki energy is given to the chakras, blocks are cleared and the rotation returns to normal.  (The aura and chakras are vast subjects; this is only a very basic presentation.)

 Reiki (pronounced Ray-key) literally translates to Universal Life Force Energy, and is spiritually guided.  A Reiki practitioner need not possess any knowledge of medicine.


The power of universal life force energy

Life Force Energy is known as “ki” in Japan, “chi” or “Qi” in China and “Prana” in India.  This is the non-physical energy that flows in every thing and ensures life.  When the life force energy is high, a person is healthy, strong and confident; but a lowering of this energy level results in weakness and illness.  On death, this life force energy leaves the body rendering it lifeless.  This life force energy is present in everything.

Universal Life Force Energy, on the other hand, is spiritually guided energy that comes from a higher source.  It is available to be used when the Life Force Energy is depleted.  Because it is spiritually guided, it acts for the highest good at all times.

Reiki is capable of healing anything because it works at the most fundamental levels, the underlying energy structure of matter.  Anything can be changed because at this level all is fluid-like and malleable. 

In any healing the goal is to find the limitation, recognize the pattern, recognize where it came from and let it go.  Reiki accomplishes this by providing the recipient enough energy to rise above the limitation and the courage to let it go.  Reiki is a gateway shining pure love into the universe.  It is this love which allows us to transcend our wounds and help us remember our true nature.

Member San Diego Reiki Corps. volunteers


The seven major chakras in the body are as follows:  

1.  Root chakra, located at the base of the spine

    1. Color:  Red
    2. Gland governed:  Adrenal.  Deals with excretory system and blood distribution, with a dominating influence of body temperature.
    3. This is our “rooting” chakra, giving us the will to live life enthusiastically.
    4. Malfunctioning causes:  Lack of enthusiasm and stamina.  Over functioning often results in aggression, violence and a need to dominate.

      2.  Sacral Chakra, located two inches below the navel.

      1. Color:  Orange
      2. Gland governed: Gonads.  Deals with reproductive system and its organs.
      3. Balances the yin and yang, the masculine and feminine aspects present in everyone.  Our relationship with other people and our sense of self is also controlled by this chakra.  Creative expression of being is dealt with by the sacral chakra.
      4. Malfunctioning causes:  Unfulfilled relationships, uncertainty, lack of confidence and emotional paralysis.

        3.  Solar Plexus, located in the upper part of the abdomen

        1. Color:  Yellow
        2. Gland governed:  Pancreas.  Controls the digestive system.  Associated with lower back.  Plays an important role in the digestion of food.  The pancreas secretes insulin, which regulates the amount of blood sugar in the body, so this is an important chakra for diabetics
        3. This chakra plays an important role in the formation of our personality.  It is our mood center.  When the chakra is open we feel joy and inner richness, but a blocked solar plexus results in gloom and depression.  This acts as our shock absorber where trauma shocks are absorbed so that we do not collapse.
        4. Malfunctioning causes:  A desire to manipulate and control.  Frequent mood swings occur resulting in an unstable personality.

          4.  Heart Chakra, located in the center of the chest

          1. Color:  Green
          2. Gland governed:  Thymus.  Controls the heart and lower lungs.  Regulates circulation and strengthens the immune system.
          3. This is a very important chakra and is at the center of the chakra system.  When balanced, it imparts unconditional love, emotional warmth, sincerity and generosity.
          4. Malfunctioning causes:  An inability to give and receive love.  It also makes a person vulnerable and overly dependent on the affection of others.

            5.  Throat Chakra, located in the throat

            1. Color:  Light blue
            2. Gland governed:  Thyroid.  Governs the neck, throat, ears, trachea, bronchial tubes, upper lungs and esophagus.
            3. This chakra governs communication and creative expression.  An open throat chakra helps us to effectively communicate our innermost thoughts and feelings without fear.  Creativity is also an aspect of this chakra.  Outward expression of this creativity requires an open throat chakra.
            4. Malfunctioning causes:  The inability to express oneself.  Fear of and dependence of the opinions of others resulting in withdrawal into oneself.

              6.  Third Eye, located in the center of the forehead

              1. Color:  Indigo
              2. Gland governed:  Pituitary.  The left eye, nose, ears, sinuses, cerebellum and the central nervous system, all come under this gland
              3. This is our intuitive center.  An open third eye results in a composed mind.  Advanced intellectual skills are present when this chakra is healthy.
              4. Malfunctioning causes:  An over dependence on rationality and the intellect and a lack of spirituality.  There is a rejection of everything that cannot be proven scientifically.  A considerably large block in this chakra causes a low intellect and a confused mind.  The person will be overly materialistic.

                7.  Crown Chakra, located a the top of the head

                1. Color:  Ultra-violet, violet, purple, white
                2. Gland governed:  Pineal.  Affects the upper brain and the right eye.
                3. This is our spiritual center.  A sense of unity with the divine.  The consciousness is completely calm and open.
                4. Malfunctioning causes:  A feeling of separation and a feeling of being abandoned.  An uncertainty and lack of purpose ensues.  Such people could become hyper active since they feel they have to justify their existence.

                Home  ·  About  ·  Contact Us
                Copyright © Janet Lawlor, BCTMB